The Trinity, or the Tri-Unity of God: An Outline

 

(Scripture quotations taken from the Revised Version)

I. The Trinity and it’s Application to Man

  1. God as a Trinity

    1. Matthew 28.19: Go ye therefore, and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them into the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Ghost.
      1. Father
      2. Son
      3. Holy Spirit
        1. “Name” is singular, while the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit is plural; one-in-three, three-in-one, unity-in-trinity, trinity-in-unity.
    2. Matthew 3.16-17: And Jesus, when he was baptized, went up straightway from the water: and lo, the heavens were opened unto him, and he saw the Spirit of God descending as a dove, and coming upon him; and lo, a voice out of the heavens, saying, This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.
      1. Son – on the earth.
      2. Holy Spirit – descends upon.
      3. Father – in the heavens.
  2. Man as a Trinity

    1. Created in the image of God (The “Us”)

      1. Genesis 1.26-27: And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth. And God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.
        1. The “us” and the “our” in verse 26 is the same as the “God” who created in verse 27.
          1. Genesis 3.22: And the LORD God said, Behold, the man is become as one of us, to know good and evil; and now, lest he put forth his hand, and take also of the tree of life, and eat, and live for ever.
          2. Genesis 11.7: Go to, let us go down, and there confound their language, that they may not understand one another’s speech.
          3. Isaiah 6.8: And I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then I said, Here am I; send me.
    2. The Nature of Man

      1. 1 Thessalonians 5.23: And the God of peace himself sanctify you wholly; and may your spirit and soul and body be preserved entire, without blame at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.
        1. Spirit
        2. Soul
        3. Body
          1. “Wholly” and “entire” are used as all-encompassing words here to express the nature of man in his totality.
    3. Jesus Tempted Fully as a Man

      1. Body (Flesh) Tempted
        1. Matthew 4.3-4: And the tempter came and said unto him, If thou art the Son of God, command that these stones become bread. But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.
      2. Soul Tempted
        1. Matthew 4.5-7:  Then the devil taketh him into the holy city; and he set him on the pinnacle of the temple, and saith unto him, If thou art the Son of God, cast thyself down: for it is written, He shall give his angels charge concerning thee: And on their hands they shall bear thee up, Lest haply thou dash thy foot against a stone. Jesus said unto him, Again it is written, Thou shalt not tempt the Lord thy God.
      3. Spirit Tempted
        1. Matthew 4.8-10: Again, the devil taketh him unto an exceeding high mountain, and sheweth him all the kingdoms of the world, and the glory of them; and he said unto him, All these things will I give thee, if thou wilt fall down and worship me. Then saith Jesus unto him, Get thee hence, Satan: for it is written, Thou shalt worship the Lord thy God, and him only shalt thou serve.

II. One God

  1. Deuteronomy 4.35, 39: Unto thee it was shewed, that thou mightest know that the LORD he is God; there is none else beside him… (39) Know therefore this day, and lay it to thine ear, that the LORD he is God in heaven above and upon the earth beneath: there is none else.
  2. Deuteronomy 6.4 (also known to the Jews as the “Shema”): Hear O Israel: the LORD our God is one LORD: and thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with thy might.
    1. The Hebrew word for “one” in this verse is Echad, which is the same word used when speaking of a man and wife (two) becoming one (Echad). In other words, Three can be One:
      1. Genesis 2.24: Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.
    2. Jesus quotes this verse when he was asked what is the first of all the commandments:
      1. Mark 12.29-30: Jesus answered, The first is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord our God, the Lord is one: and thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength.
  3. Isaiah 43.10Ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen: that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he; before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me. 
    1. A very interesting verse about no God formed before or after Him. This really puts a dagger into the theology of religions that believe there are more than one God, or think that Jesus himself was a lesser “god”, but not almighty God. God Himself states there is no other – before or after.

III. Jesus Called God

  1. John 1.1, 14: In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God… (14) And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us (and we beheld his glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father), full of grace and truth.
  2. John 1.18: No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him.
    1. The Greek for “Son” here is “God” if translated literally. Again, a monotheistic Jew would not have called Jesus “God” or “a god” since he only believes in One – unless, of course, John had a deeper understanding of the Trinity than any of us.
  3. John 20.28: Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God.
    1. This is addressed to Christ. And notice Jesus didn’t rebuke him for calling him God. The Greek for “My Lord and my God” can also be translated, “The Lord of me and the God of me.” This statement by Thomas is really the summation of the whole Gospel of John; that Jesus is Lord and God.
  4. Romans 9.5: Whose are the fathers, and of whom is Christ as concerning the flesh, who is over all, God blessed for ever. Amen.
  5. Titus 2.13:  Looking for the blessed hope and appearing of the glory of our great God and Saviour Jesus Christ.
    1. With how the Greek is written here grammatically, the “God and Saviour” do apply to Jesus Christ.
  6. Hebrews 1.8: But of the Son he saith, Thy throne, O God, is for ever and ever; And the sceptre of uprightness is the sceptre of thy kingdom.
    1. Undeniable proof of the Father calling the Son “God”.
  7. II Peter 1.1: Simon Peter, a servant and apostle of Jesus Christ, to them that have obtained a like precious faith with us in the righteousness of our God and Saviour Jesus Christ.
    1. Same as Titus 2.13 above. The God and Saviour apply to Jesus Christ.

IV. Other Titles Shared by the Father and the Son

  1. The First and the Last
    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Isaiah 41.4: Who hath wrought and done it, calling the generations from the beginning? I the LORD, the first, and with the last, I am he. 
      2. Isaiah 44.6: Thus saith the LORD, the King of Israel, and his redeemer the LORD of hosts: I am the first, and the I am the last; and beside me there is no God. 
      3. Isaiah 48:12: Hearken unto me, O Jacob, and Israel my called: I am he; I am the first, I also am the last. 
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Revelation 2.8: And to the angel of the church in Smyrna write; These things saith the first and the last, which was dead, and lived again.
      2. Revelation 22.12-13: Behold, I come quickly; and my reward is with me, to render to each man according as his work is. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and end.  
  2. I AM
    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Exodus 3.13-14: And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them? And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you. 
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. John 8.24: I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for except ye believe that I AM he, ye shall die in your sins. 
        1. In the Greek’s literal phrase, he says, “for except ye believe that I AM, ye shall die in your sins.” The “he” is not in the original manuscripts. To a first century Jew named John, who believed in only one God and knew exactly the implication of I AM, he doesn’t shy away from calling Jesus the I AM. He could have easily inserted the title Messiah or “the one” but instead chose to leave it the way it was.
      2. John 8.58: Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I AM.
      3. John 18.5-6: They answered him, Jesus of Nazareth. Jesus saith unto them, I am he. And Judas also, which betrayed him, was standing with them. When therefore he said unto them, I am he, they went backward, and fell to the ground.
        1. Same with 8.24, the “he” isn’t there in the original manuscripts, but should literally be interpreted as “I AM”. The very power of Him saying this made them go back and fall to the ground. They knew and understood what it meant to say I AM.
  3. Author of Eternal Words
    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Isaiah 40.8: The grass withereth, the flower fadeth: but the word of our God shall stand for ever. 
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Matthew 24.35: Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away. 
  4. Light
    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Psalm 27.1: The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?
      2. Isaiah 60.19-20: The sun shall be no more thy light by day; neither for brightness shall the moon give light unto thee: but the LORD shall be unto thee an everlasting light, and thy God thy glory.
      3. 1 John 1.5: And this is the message which we have heard from him, and announce unto you, that God is light, and in him is no darkness at all. 
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Isaiah 9.2: The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light: they that dwelt in the land of the shadow of death, upon them hath the light shined. 
        1. Quoted in the gospels as applying to Jesus:
          1. Matthew 4.16: The people which sat in darkness saw a great light, and to them which sat in the region and shadow of death, to them did light spring up. 
          2. Luke 2.32: A light for revelation to the Gentiles, and the glory of thy people Israel. 
      2. Isaiah 49.6: Yea, he saith, It is too light a thing that thou shouldest be my servant to raise up the tribes of Jacob, and to restore the preserved of Israel: I will also give thee for a light to the Gentiles, that thou mayest be my salvation unto the end of the earth.
      3. Isaiah 60.1: Arise, shine; for thy light has come, and the glory of the LORD is risen upon thee. 
      4. John 4-5,7-9: In him was life; and the life was the light of men. And the light shineth in the darkness; and the darkness apprehended it not. (7-9) The same came for witness, that he might bear witness of the light, that all might believe through him. He was not the light, but came that he might bear witness of the light. There was the true light, even the light which lighteth every man, coming into the world. 
      5. John 8.12: Again therefore Jesus spake unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in the darkness, but shall have the light of life. 
  5. One Rock/Stone

    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Genesis 49.24: But his bow abode in strength, And the arms of his hands were made strong, By the hands of the Mighty One of Jacob, (From thence is the shepherd, the stone of Israel). 
      2. 2 Samuel 22.2-3, 32, 47: And he said, The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer, even mine; The God of my rock, in him will I trust; my shield and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge; my saviour, thou savest me from violence… (32) For who is God, save the LORD? and who is a rock, save our God?… (47) The LORD liveth; and blessed be my rock; and exalted be the God of the rock of my salvation.
      3. Isaiah 44.8: Fear ye not, neither be afraid: have I not declared unto thee of old, and shewed it? and ye are my witnesses. Is there a God beside me? yea, there is no Rock; I know not any.
      4. Psalm 18.2: The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strong rock, in him will I trust; my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower.
      5. Psalm 95.1: O COME, let us sing unto the LORD: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation.
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Exodus 17.6: Behold, I will stand before thee there upon the rock in Horeb; and thou shalt smite the rock, and there shall come water out of it, that the people may drink. And Moses did so in the sight of the elders of Israel.
        1. Paul relates this Rock to Christ:
          1. 1 Corinthians 10.4: And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of a spiritual rock that followed them: and the rock was Christ.
      2. Isaiah 8.4: And he shall be for a sanctuary; but for a stone of stumbling and for a rock of offence to both the houses of Israel, for a gin and for a snare to the inhabitants of Jerusalem.
      3. Isaiah 28.16: Therefore thus saith the Lord GOD, Behold, I lay in Zion for a foundation a stone, a tried stone, a precious corner stone of sure foundation: he that believeth shall not make haste.
        1. Peter relates this corner stone to Christ:
          1. I Peter 2.6-8:  Because it is contained in scripture, Behold, I lay in Zion a chief corner stone, elect, precious: And he that believeth on him shall not be put to shame. For you therefore which believe is the preciousness: but for such as disbelieve, The stone which the builders rejected, The same was made the head of the corner; and, A stone of stumbling, and a rock of offence; for they stumble at the word, being disobedient: whereunto also they were appointed.
  6. Bridegroom

    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Isaiah 62.4: For as a young man marrieth a virgin, so shall thy sons marry thee: and as the bridegroom rejoiceth over the bride, so shall thy God rejoice over thee.
      2. Hosea 2.16:  And it shall be at that day, saith the LORD, that thou shalt call me Ishi; and shalt call me no more Baali.
        1. The Hebrew Ishi means “my husband.”
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Matthew 25.1-13: Then shall the kingdom of heaven be likened unto ten virgins, which took their lamps, and went forth to meet the bridegroom. And five of them were foolish, and five were wise. For the foolish, when they took their lamps, took no oil with them: but the wise took oil in their vessels with their lamps. Now while the bridegroom tarried, they all slumbered and slept. But at midnight there is a cry, Behold, the bridegroom! Come ye forth to meet him. Then all those virgins arose, and trimmed their lamps. And the foolish said unto the wise, Give us of your oil; for our lamps are going out. But the wise answered, saying, Peradventure there will not be enough for us and you: go ye rather to them that sell, and buy for yourselves. And while they went away to buy, the bridegroom came; and they that were ready went in with him to the marriage feast: and the door was shut. Afterward come also the other virgins, saying, Lord, Lord, open to us. But he answered and said, Verily I say unto you, I know you not. Watch therefore, for ye know not the day nor the hour.
      2. Mark 2.19: And Jesus said unto them, Can the sons of the bride-chamber fast, while the bridegroom is with them? as long as they have the bridegroom with them, they cannot fast.
  7. Shepherd

    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Psalm 23.1: The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
      2. Ezekiel 34.15: I myself will feed my sheep, and I will cause them to lie down, saith the Lord GOD.
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. John 10.11: I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd layeth down his life for the sheep.
      2. John 10.16: And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and they shall become one flock, one shepherd.
      3. Hebrews 13.20: Now the God of peace, who brought again from the dead the great shepherd of the sheep with the blood of the eternal covenant, even our Lord Jesus.
      4. I Peter 2.25: For ye were going astray like sheep; but are now returned unto the Shepherd and Bishop of your souls.
      5. I Peter 5.4: And when the chief Shepherd shall be manifested, ye shall receive the crown of glory that fadeth not away.
  8. Forgiver of Sins

    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Psalm 130.4: But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared.
      2. Jeremiah 31.34: And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD: for I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin will I remember no more.
      3. Colossians 2.13: And you, being dead through your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, you, I say, did he quicken together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses.
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Luke 5.21-24: And the scribes and the Pharisees began to reason, saying, Who is this that speaketh blasphemies? Who can forgive sins, but God alone? But Jesus perceiving their reasonings, answered and said unto them, What reason ye in your hearts? Whether is easier, to say, Thy sins are forgiven thee; or to say, Arise and walk? But that ye may know that the Son of man hath power on earth to forgive sins (he said unto him that was palsied), I say unto thee, Arise, and take up thy couch, and go unto thy house.
      2. Acts 5.31: Him did God exalt with his right hand to be a Prince and a Saviour, for to give repentance to Israel, and remission of sins.
      3. Colossians 3.13: Forbearing one another, and forgiving each other, if any man have a complaint against any; even as the Lord forgave you, so also do ye.
        1. The Lord here in 3.13 is referencing Christ as evidenced by Paul’s calling Chris Jesus “Lord” in the same letter:
          1. Colossians 2.6: As therefore ye received Christ Jesus the Lord,so walk in him.
  9. Redeemer

    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Hosea 13.14: I will ransom them from the power of the grave; I will redeem them from death: O death, where are thy plagues? O grave, where is thy destruction? repentance shall be hid from mine eyes.
      2. Psalms 130.7: O Israel, hope in the LORD; for with the LORD there is mercy, and with him is plenteous redemption.
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Galatians 3.13: Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law, having become a curse for us: for it is written, Cursed is every one that hangeth on a tree.
      2. Titus 2.14: Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a people for his own possession, zealous of good works.
      3. Revelation 5.9: And they sing a new song, saying, Worthy art thou to take the book, and to open the seals thereof: for thou wast slain, and didst purchase unto God with thy blood men of every tribe, and tongue, and people, and nation.
  10. One Savior

    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Isaiah 43.11: I, even I, am the LORD; and beside me there is no saviour. 
      2. Isaiah 45.21: Declare ye, and bring it forth; yea, let them take counsel together: who hath shewed this from ancient time? who hath declared it of old? have not I the LORD? and there is no God else beside me; a just God and a saviour; there is none beside me.
      3. Hosea 13.4: Yet I am the LORD thy God from the land of Egypt; and thou shalt know no god but me, and beside me there is no saviour.
        1. Jesus called God and Saviour in Titus 2.13 and 2 Peter 1.1 also.
      4. Titus 1.3: But in his own seasons manifested his word in the message, wherewith I was intrusted according to the commandment of God our Saviour.
      5. Titus 3.4: But when the kindness of God our Saviour, and his love toward man, appeared.
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. Titus 1.4: To Titus, my true child after a common faith: Grace and peace from God the Father and Christ Jesus our Saviour.
      2. Titus 2.13:  Looking for the blessed hope and appearing of the glory of our great God and Saviour Jesus Christ.
      3. Titus 3.6: Which he poured out upon us richly, through Jesus Christ our Saviour.
      4. II Peter 1.1: Simon Peter, a servant and apostle of Jesus Christ, to them that have obtained a like precious faith with us in the righteousness of our God and Saviour Jesus Christ.
  11. Co-Partner of Divine Glory

    1. Applied to the Father:
      1. Isaiah 42.8:  I am the LORD; that is my name: and my glory will I not give to another, neither my praise unto graven images.
      2. Isaiah 48.11: For mine own sake, for mine own sake, will I do it; for how should my name be profaned? and my glory will I not give to another.
    2. Applied to the Son:
      1. John 17.1: These things spake Jesus; and lifting up his eyes to heaven, he said, Father, the hour is come; glorify thy Son, that the Son may glorify thee.
      2. John 17.5: And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.
      3. 1 Corinthians 2.8: Which none of the rulers of this world knoweth: for had they known it, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.

V. Old Testament Prophecies That Pertain To The Deity of Christ

  1. Genesis 19.24: Then the LORD rained upon Sodom and upon Gomorrah brimstone and fire from the LORD out of heaven.
    1. Did you catch that? Yahweh rained upon Sodom and Gomorrah brimstone and fire FROM Yahweh out of heaven. A classic Trinity-proof text. Three men visited Abraham before this – God Himself and two angels. This “man” was Christ. He rained upon Sodom and Gomorrah brimstone and fire from the Father in heaven. Both are called Yahweh.
  2. Isaiah 9.6: For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given; and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.
    1. The Hebrew for Mighty God is El Gibbor – which just so happens to be used in the very next chapter when speaking about God:
      1. Isaiah 10.21: A remnant shall return, even the remnant of Jacob, unto the mighty God.
  3. Psalm 110.1:  The LORD saith unto my lord, Sit thou at my right hand, until I make thine enemies thy footstool.
    1. Matthew 22.43-44:  He saith unto them, How then doth David in the Spirit call him Lord, saying, The Lord said unto my Lord, Sit thou on my right hand, Till I put thine enemies underneath thy feet?
  4. Micah 5.2: But thou, Beth-lehem Ephrathah, which art little to be among the thousands of Judah, out of thee shall one come forth unto me that is to be ruler in Israel; whose goings forth are from of old, from everlasting.

VI. The Power to Give Life

  1. Applied to the Father:
    1. 1 Samuel 2.6: The LORD killeth, and maketh alive: he bringeth down to the grave, and bringeth up.
  2. Applied to the Son:
    1. John 5.21: For as the Father raiseth the dead and quickeneth them, even so the Son also quickeneth whom he will.
    2. 1 Corinthians 15.45: So also it is written, The first man Adam became a living soul. The last Adam became a life-giving spirit.
    3. John 11.25: Jesus said unto her, I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth on me, though he die, yet shall he live:

VII. The Act of Creation Attributed to Three

  1. Attributed to the Father:
    1. Isaiah 40.28: Hast thou not known? hast thou not heard? the everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary; there is no searching of his understanding.
  2. Attributed to the Son:
    1. John 2.3-4: The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by him; and without him was not anything made that hath been made.
    2. Hebrews 1.10: And, Thou, Lord, in the beginning hast laid the foundation of the earth, And the heavens are the works of thy hands.
      1. The writer of Hebrews states that this is what the Father says to the Son. Not only does the Father call him “God” in this chapter, he also calls Him “Lord” and “Creator”.
    3. Colossians 1.16: For in him were all things created, in the heavens and upon the earth, things visible and things invisible, whether thrones or dominions or principalities or powers; all things have been created through him, and unto him.
  3. Attributed to the Holy Spirit:
    1. Job 26.13: By his spirit the heavens are garnished; his hand hath pierced the swift serpent.
    2. Psalm 104.30: Thou sendest forth thy spirit, they are created; and thou renewest the face of the ground.
  4. Attributed to all Three:
    1. Genesis 1.1: In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. 

VIII. The Body of Christ’s Resurrection Attributed to Three

  1. Attributed to the Father:
    1. Acts 2.32: This Jesus did God raise up, whereof we all are witnesses.
  2. Attributed to the Son:
    1. John 2.18-21: The Jews therefore answered and said unto him, What sign shewest thou unto us, seeing that thou doest these things? Jesus answered and said unto them, Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up. The Jews therefore said, Forty and six years was this temple in building, and wilt thou raise it up in three days? But he spake of the temple of his body.
    2. John 10.17-18: Therefore doth the Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I may take it again. No one taketh it away from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment received I from my Father.
  3. Attributed to the Holy Spirit:
    1. Romans 1.4: Who was declared to be the Son of God with power, according to the spirit of holiness, by the resurrection of the dead; even Jesus Christ our Lord.
    2. Romans 8.11: But if the Spirit of him that raised up Jesus from the dead dwelleth in you, he that raised up Christ Jesus from the dead shall quicken also your mortal bodies through his Spirit that dwelleth in you.

IX. The Holy Spirit Speaks, Has a Personality, Is God, Etc.

  1. John 14.16-18: And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may be with you for ever, even the Spirit of truth: whom the world cannot receive; for it beholdeth him not, neither knoweth him: ye know him; for he abideth with you, and shall be in you. I will not leave you desolate: I come unto you.
    1. Note that he is called “he” and is “another” Comforter.
  2. John 16.13-14: Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he shall guide you into all the truth: for he shall not speak from himself; but what things soever he shall hear, these shall he speak: and he shall declare unto you the things that are to come. He shall glorify me: for he shall take of mine, and shall declare it unto you.
  3. Romans 8.26: And in like manner the Spirit also helpeth our infirmity: for we know not how to pray as we ought; but the Spirit himself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.
  4. Acts 1.16: Brethren, it was needful that the scripture should be fulfilled, which the Holy Ghost spake before by the mouth of David concerning Judas, who was guide to them that took Jesus.
  5. Acts 5.3-4: But Peter said, Ananias, why hath Satan filled thy heart to lie to the Holy Ghost, and to keep back part of the price of the land? Whiles it remained, did it not remain thine own? and after it was sold, was it not in thy power? How is it that thou hast conceived this thing in thy heart? thou hast not lied unto men, but unto God.
    1. Lying to the Holy Spirit is lying to God.
  6. Acts 15.28:  For it seemed good to the Holy Ghost, and to us, to lay upon you no greater burden than these necessary things.
  7. 2 Corinthians 3.17-18:  Now the Lord is the Spirit: and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty. But we all, with unveiled face reflecting as a mirror the glory of the Lord, are transformed into the same image from glory to glory, even as from the Lord the Spirit.
  8. 1 Timothy 4.1: But the Spirit saith expressly, that in later times some shall fall away from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits and doctrines of devils.
    1. Such as though who deny the Spirit? Hence denying God?
  9. Hebrews 3.7-11:  Wherefore, even as the Holy Ghost saith, Today if ye shall hear his voice, Harden not your hearts, as in the provocation, Like as in the day of the temptation in the wilderness, Wherewith your fathers tempted me by proving me, And saw my works forty years. Wherefore I was displeased with this generation, And said, They do alway err in their heart: But they did not know my ways; As I sware in my wrath, They shall not enter into my rest.
  10. Revelation 2.7:  He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith to the churches. To him that overcometh, to him will I give to eat of the tree of life, which is in the Paradise of God.

X. Conclusion.

After just now finishing this up (which I may add to more as God reveals Himself more), I asked myself why it was that I was doing this? Am I doing this to prove myself right? Is it to feed my ego? There have been times in the past when I have discussed these very things with people who don’t agree with me, and I only wanted to prove myself to them that I wasn’t an idiot – that I wasn’t “Raca”. However, I have come to the realization that I don’t have to prove myself to anyone, but to God alone. Believe me, I am well more fearful of the latter than the former. And I believe that is where Unitarians have gone wrong: losing their fear of God. They try to make the incomprehensible God “comprehensible”. To them, He must be reasoned within their mind in order for it to be believed – which is a form of Deism. Though I believe in the Tri-Unity of God, I know that even now I don’t understand Him fully, for who can know the mind of God? This outline is simply an attempt to “scratch the surface” of the plurality of His Majesty.

As human beings, as created things, we ought to be very careful how we present God to the world. It is a fearful thing to even put this outline together, because I do understand that He is an incomprehensible God, and I must tread lightly. I say these things with a heart that is full of love for God: I only want people to see Him for who He is – for who HE says He is and not what Arius says, or Joseph Smith says, or Charles Taze Russell says, or Judge Joseph Rutherford says, or John Thomas says, or Benjamin Wilson says – or anyone else that I am not mentioning – that at one time or another, forgot that it isn’t “study” that brings knowledge, but a holy fear of the Mighty One, the Creator, the One with whom we have to do.

The evidence and scriptures provided here is clear and one thing certain: the One God is Triune. The Father is not the Son, the Son not the Father, and the Holy Spirit is neither, etc. They are separate, but equal, and most importantly: ONE.

May God send this forth and use it according to His will.

Leave a Reply

